BTEC National qualifications are undertaken in further education and sixth-form colleges, schools and other training providers, and have been since they were introduced in 1984. Their purpose, approaches to teaching, learning and assessment are established and understood by teaching professionals, employers and learners alike. They provide students with the knowledge, understanding and skills that they need to gain entry into 3rd level education or prepare for skilled employment.

The BTEC Diploma in Construction is 100% coursework and over the 2 years, students will undertake 12 units of work covering a wide range of related topics.   Each unit will require students to complete a variety of tasks varying in complexity from pass level to distinction level. You will be awarded a grade in each unit and the grades achieved in the 12 units over the duration of the course will be used to determine your final award.

Members of the Department

  • Mr V Doherty


6 units are taught in St Columb’s and 6 units are taught at the NWRC.

Examples of units that will have to be studied

  1. Health, Safety and Welfare in Construction and the Built Environment
  2. Sustainability
  3. Mathematics in Construction and the Built Environment
  4. Science and Materials in Construction and the Build Environment
  5. Construction Technology and Design in Construction and Civil Engineering
  6. Building Technology in Construction



Final grades awarded | (Equivalent A level grade)

  • Pass / Pass | (EE)
  • Merit / Mass | (DD)
  • Merit / Merit | (CC)
  • Distinction / Merit | (BB)
  • Distinction / Distinction | (AA)
  • Distinction* / Distinction | (A*A)
  • Distinction* / Distinction* | (A*A*)

Career Opportunities

Quantity Surveying, Civil Engineering, Building Surveying, Construction Engineering, Urban Planning and Property Development